Restoration

We all have things we need to do to keep an even keel — blogging, exercising, reading, cooking. What’s yours?

**************************

There are many things I turn to when I need to quiet my noisy heart. My work days, only three per week, thank God!–can be quite stressful.  When I get home, I do not want to talk about difficult matters. My primary source of comfort is the Bible and prayer.  Always, they bring me back to center.

My husband and I enjoy the retro TV stations that show the programs we loved growing up. That’s a relaxing evening.

While we’re watching, I’m usually knitting or doing some other handwork. Knitting, especially, is very soothing to me. The rhythm of the stitching, the feel of the yarn moving through my fingers, the developing pattern, all bring me a sense of peace and relaxation.

Music is a constant go-to.  I love to play my piano or organ, often allowing whatever comes to mind to flow out through my fingers.  And of course, I completely enjoy my collection of CD’s.

Finally, and you knew it was coming, books are my secret garden.  Reading has always, always provided my quiet place in a quiet space. When I read, I can leave my reality and float off to someplace that always has a happy ending.  Well, almost always 🙂  It’s the last thing I do at night after I slip into bed.  Books put me to sleep.  I always have one with me, either a paper book or my Kindle.

A life without books would be bleak indeed.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/on-the-edge/

4 thoughts on “Restoration

Leave a Reply

