Therapy

What’s the strangest place from which you’ve posted to your blog? When was the last time you were out and about, and suddenly thought, “I need to write about this!”?

*******************

If I’d had my laptop handy, I would have stopped to write a post from my therapy gym this morning. It would have started with the gentleman who was in the other side of the therapy pool (love that pool!  Water is about 96º and it feels SO good!) who was telling me about the fundraiser they have every year in memory of his son  who died from complications of MPS. I’d never heard of it before, so I got some education.

Then I moved on to the table where the therapist did some stretching on my hips, and overheard the patient on the table next to mine talking about the accident that cost him a leg and left him with some permanent physical disabilities.

From there we went to the gym, where I was very proud to increase my treadmill time and speed, and I recognized a friend I hadn’t seen in some time.  She took a nasty fall during one of our icy days last winter, and broke both her ankles. She’s my age and her recovery has been difficult and long. Her daughter was there with her to provide support and transportation.

As I waited at the front desk to set up my appointments for next week, I watched one of the therapists help a woman walk carefully up and down the length of the room.  She had an artificial leg below her right knee, and was moving with great care. She also had some serious hair loss, so I’m wondering if there was cancer that had to be amputated. Maybe I’ll have a chance to talk with her sometime soon. So many people with so many different injuries, illnesses, debilities.  I’m there because of herniated discs and arthritic degeneration.  I know what pain is.  The shots and the therapy are helping a lot.  But my stuff seems pretty paltry compared to what some of my fellow rehabbers are experiencing.  They all have a story.  Most of them are willing to share their stories.

Who wouldn’t want to write about them?  It’s the stuff that life is really all about.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/blogger-in-a-strange-land/

Leave a Reply

