Married for Keeps

“And they lived happily ever after.” Think about this line for a few minutes. Are you living happily ever after? If not, what will it take for you to get there?

***********************

The timing on this one couldn’t be much better.  On Sunday, June 7,  Terry and I will celebrate our 46th wedding anniversary.

47b8dc05b3127cce98548ef976d400000047100BYtHDdy4ZMY

This isn’t a recent picture–maybe ten years ago.  We’ve both aged, and because of his injuries and pain he shows it more, I think. I tried to find a picture of our wedding, but I don’t have a scanner and I couldn’t find the one my son posted a while back. Anyway, this isn’t about pictures.  It’s about happily ever after.

Yes. Yes, we have done that.

Every single day?

No. Of course not. There have been miserable days, miserable seasons. Life can be hard, and it doesn’t always go as you planned or hoped.

But in spite of the ups, downs, and go-arounds, we wouldn’t have married anyone else. We fit each other.  No one else would have put up with either of us 🙂

His strengths fill in my weaknesses, and vice versa.  I’m a word/people/language/history/books/music  person and he’s a tools/math/science/problem-solving/practical person.  He’s a genius, really.  He’s done so much in our home that would have cost us thousands of dollars without his skills. He designed and installed central air.  He created a small bathroom out of our back porch. He’s overseen and been hands-on in our kitchen renovation. He just knows how to do things, and if he doesn’t, he learns.

Me?  I grew up watching my mom stretch every penny until it cried; cooking healthy meals on a nickle, keeping house on a shoestring.  I can do that.  I have done that. And Terry has also given me the freedom to explore and grow and expand, Our interests are very different, but he’s been my biggest fan, support, and cheerleader through my educational journeys, my attempt to write, my counseling practice. He doesn’t need to be in the spotlight.  Doesn’t LIKE to be there.  But he’s more than willing to put me there.

Our kids have always known we’re a team. They couldn’t easily go around one of us to get to the other. We’re truly one flesh, as the Bible describes what marriage ought to be.

So, haven’t I ever wanted to  wring his neck? Oh yeah. He has some habits that drive me nuts. But likewise, he would love for me to get rid of some of my irritating quirks, of which there are plenty. We’ve learned to accept, adapt, complain where it will help, shut up where it won’t.

So that’s happily ever after, in my opinion. I don’t know how many more years God will give us.  It doesn’t matter. I’ve had the love of a good and godly man, and he’s had the love of a faithful, trying-to-be-godly woman. Even in the worst of some very bad times, we’ve stayed committed when it would have been easier to split.

It just doesn’t get any better than that.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/happily-ever-after/

14 thoughts on “Married for Keeps

  1. My parents celebrated 51 years. Dad passed away a year ago and Mom in January. Same as you, they had many ups and downs but they chose love and chose to stay through the hardships. My sisters and I are forever grateful for their commitment. Thank you for sharing your story.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You keep on inspiring us by writing such meaning stories about your life and struggle time to time, it seems that I know you and Terry so well ! You are a blessed couple and many more such moments to come in your life.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 21 – “Wicked Business” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

