Cure Arthritis!

If you could create a painless, inexpensive cure for a single ailment, what would you cure and why?

*************************

Arthritis, in all its evil forms.  There are over 100 kinds of arthritis, from the wear-and-tear osteoarthritis to the crippling ankylosing spondylitis.  There are types of arthritis that affect only the soft tissues,  or the skin, instead of bones and joints that we tend to think of when we talk about arthritis.

  

(osteoarthritis)                                                        (rheumatoid)

Some forms seem to have a direct genetic tendency in families.  Others seem to be completely random.  I can’t even begin to conceive of the reams and reams of paper given over to the study of arthritis, it’s scope, its symptoms, and the long-hoped-for magical cure that makes it go away.

We used to think that living in a hot, dry climate was good for those who suffer arthritis, and I have friends who have migrated South and West to find some relief.  I have to wonder, though, when I read about archeological discoveries of skeletons of desert Native Americans whose bones show terrible  erosion from arthritic conditions.  It wouldn’t seem that Nirvana exists.

The truth is, our bodies start aging the moment we’re born. There is only one alternative to that process, and I don’t think many of us would choose death instead of life just to avoid arthritis.

Still, don’t you wish there was a simple remedy?  Some cure-all snake oil that is cheap and ubiquitous? Something that doesn’t disrupt liver function and create a whole new set of problems such as stomach issues?

There is just so much pain involved, and I’m tired of pain.  I’ve had fibromyalgia for years, and daily pain is no stranger to me.  You don’t get much sympathy for fibro, however, because it’s not something other people can see. At least my back pain is somewhat evident in my tottery-old-grandma posture, and I guess that posture makes the pain more believable to those fortunate souls who have no particular pain.

Sheesh.  I’ve let this become a whine session.  Sorry.  I’ll stop now.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/placebo-effect/

7 thoughts on “Cure Arthritis!

  1. I was planning to cure arthritis myself, but since you’re taking care of that, maybe I could move on to…let’s see… Someone else is undoubtedly doing cancer and diabetes. The ringing in my ears jogs my memory. I’ll cure tinnitus. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

