Sweet Sleep

Sleep is one-third of our lives: write a post about it. Do you love naps? Have trouble falling alseep? Wish you could remember your dreams? Remember something especially vivid? Snuggle under a blanket, or throw the windows wide open? Meditate on sleep.

***************************

Timely topic for me.

A week ago, I got my first round of steroid injections to give me some pain relief for my hinky back. Since then, sleep has been sporadic at best. I sleep well for maybe 2-3 hours, and then I’m awake off and on for the rest of the night.  I have trouble finding a comfortable position.  I’m too hot.  I’m too cold.  I have to use the bathroom.

After doing a little research online, where everything you read is absolutely true, I found that  anxiety and restless sleep can definitely be side effects of the type of shots I had. Hard to say how long the side effects will last, since everyone’s chemistry is just a little different from everyone else’s.

So, in order to get much-needed relief for my back pain, I now have insomnia.  Great.  It will probably go away just about the time I’m ready for the next round.

I love sleep.  I’m a “snuggle under lots of blankets” girl. Growing up in cold northern winters probably taught me that! I have a very comfy bed, and I use a big down comforter maybe 60% of the year before I have to take it off because it’s just too warm.

I dream, but I rarely remember the dreams. I do move around a lot, judging from the condition of the bed when I get up.

Sleep becomes more valuable as I grow older.  I find myself waking up earlier, even when my sleep is normal, and that makes me sad.  Used to be that I slept best of all in those early morning hours,  but things are changing. One thing that hasn’t changed is that sleep is one of the best parts of my day. I love going to bed.  I always read for a little while. That’s my sleeping pill.  Terry put a timer on my bedside light so I don’t have to worry about turning it off when I fall asleep.  That’s very nice.

For me, falling asleep is just sort of sliding from one comfortable plane into oblivion. One of the best gifts God has given us is sleep.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/sleep/

P.S.  Have you noticed that on the rare ocassion that we get a new prompt, the pingback doesn’t work? Seriously.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/sleep/

5 thoughts on “Sweet Sleep

  1. That cartoon you posted, I use to love reading those. Don’t remember the name, but funny stuff. As for the sleep. I feel you. I have had irregular sleep patterns for years (25-30), going from needing only 2-3 hours, to not being able to, to crashing for 12 or more at a time. Fun stuff. And dreams? What are those?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Lockhorns. Great cartoon. So sorry you’re experiencing these sleep issues. Sometimes they can be related to anxiety/depression, and are easily treated with appropriate meds.

      Sorry. Just had my counselor hat on for a moment there 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve also had sleep problems for years, a combination of anxiety disorders and intermittent sleep apnea. I am also reminded of Shakespeare’s quote.
    Sleep that knits up the raveled sleave of care,
    The death of each day’s life, sore labor’s bath,
    Balm of hurt minds, great nature’s second course,
    Chief nourisher in life’s feast.
    Macbeth Act 2, Scene 2

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

