Traveling Style?

What’s your travel style? Are you itinerary and schedule driven, needing to have every step mapped out in advance or are you content to arrive without a plan and let happenstance be your guide?

************************

Well, let’s see.  I don’t like to sleep in the car. I don’t enjoy hiding behind trees and bushes when nature calls. I like to know I won’t have to eat tumbleweed  or roadkill. I do like my creature comforts.

There is that in me that likes the idea of just pointing the car in a random direction and seeing where it leads me, but I wouldn’t be happy if it lead me to a place that doesn’t leave a mint on your pillow.

I guess that puts me in the category of wanting to have a plan.  But just a general plan.  A decent place to stay; it doesn’t have to be luxurious. Decent food available, again not over the top price-wise. A comfy bed. Apart from those things, yeah, I’d like to wing it a little bit. That’s why day trips are fun when you don’t have a clear destination in mind.

Just don’t take so long getting there that I end up sleeping in the car. 

I would be extremely unpleasant.

And you would be extremely sorry.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/the-happy-wanderer/

12 thoughts on “Traveling Style?

  1. The amount that I plan for a trip depends on who is traveling with me. We did a trip to France and Belgium last year with out 5 and 8 year old boys and planned pretty extensively so that we would ensure food was readily available and to minimize travel time. When just with my husband we plan far less. We did a trip around Iceland and planned very little.

  2. You just need a camping hammock. Then you can sleep comfortably anywhere that you can find a telephone pole, fence, tree, etc. Just tie one end to the car and the other end to whatever object you find! Super comfortable!

  3. Anne

    After grad school/teaching/kids/homeschool…and any travel opportunities, no matter how carefully planned, not planned enough for the obsessive compulsive one…this fairly flexible but schedule oriented username has been been wound up tight!

    All I seem to do lately is count down the remaining years till freedom to indeed do “without a plan” and live for “happenstance”. Even this camping hammock sounds fascinating. And anybody who has known me would think I have lost my mind, but I think I’m just ready to find it again 🙂 You’ve got me dreaming!

    This was thought provoking, too…passing along some talent, I see 🙂
    http://mensfortis.com/2015/04/05/new-beginnings/

Leave a Reply

