My List

Who doesn’t love a list? So write one! Top five slices of pizza in your town, ten reasons disco will never die, the three secrets to happiness — go silly or go deep, just go list-y.

The only list I really keep up with these days is my grocery list.  It hangs by a magnet on my fridge, and I keep it going all the time.  I usually have something to add to it the minute I’ve put away the latest stash of groceries.

Aside from that, when you’ve lived as long as I have, your lists are in  your head.  You develop routines, and when you don’t follow your routine it discombobulates your whole day.

I remember my mom describing how my dad would dither at bedtime, putting everything in its exact place and going back to make sure of it. Over and over again.  Yeah. See, that’s because  you can’t remember what  you just said or did. You can remember what you ate on the Fourth of July 50 years ago, but you can’t remember if you put your keys in the front pocket of your purse, so you dither.  You check, and if you don’t see them, you go look for them.  Same with your glasses, the grocery list, and your list of prescriptions if you’re going to the doctor. You know you meant to do it. . . .

And it’s really aggravating when you don’t see your keys in your purse, and you spend all kinds of time dithering around looking for them; you go back and dig around in your purse again, and they were there all the time. Sigh.

So as you age, build time into your schedule for dithering. And don’t apologize too much.  It happens to all of us sooner or later.

Ditherers of the world, Unite!

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/the-satisfaction-of-a-list/

Leave a Reply

