Ocean Musings

Write 500 words on any topic you like. Now remove 250 of them without changing the essence of your post.

*************************

I love the ocean. I spent a week down in Gulf Shores, AL last week, and I didn’t want to come home.

The weather forecast when we left was dismal, but it wasn’t nearly as bad in actuality.  We got 4-5 hours on the beach every day except Monday.

And here’s what I love about the ocean:  Surf sounds; changing colors of the water from grey to blue to green; rhythmic motion of the breakers; the vastness, making me realize how small we are; the utter relaxation of the sun, even on a cloudy day; the soft, sugary sand; the endless breeze that tickles my nose with the scents of the sea.

I could go on for a long time, but I’m beginning to realize I might not have five hundred words to say about the ocean. Isn’t that strange?  I mean, people have been writing about the ocean for centuries. Poetry, prose, stories.  Others have made it into art–painters, photographers.  We love pictures of the ocean in all its moods.

I think I love it the most when it’s stormy—that is, of course, when I’m in a safe viewing place 🙂  I remember how much I loved watching the huge waves breaking over monolithic rocks off the coast in Oregon. The wildness of it, the incredible strength, always kept me spellbound.

A particular highlight for me was our trip to Bar Harbor, Maine, several years ago. We went on a whale watch, and I don’t know when I’ve ever been so amazed at anything else in the realm of huge animals. So graceful, so strong.  I could have watched them for hours on end.

Well, there.  I did write 500, then pared it down to 290.  Close enough.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/slash-and-burn/

2 thoughts on “Ocean Musings

Leave a Reply

