I Want the Lead!

If you were involved in a movie, would you rather be the director, the producer, or the lead performer? (Note: you can’t be the writer!).

***************************

The lead performer, no doubt about it.  I’m a ham.  I love the spotlight.

When I was a senior in high school, I got to be Liza in George Bernard Shaw’s Pygmalion, better known to most of us as My Fair Lady. It was SO much fun!  The play itself is not a musical, and that’s a good thing.  I don’t have a soprano voice, and could not have carried off the Julie Andrews  version 🙂

I’d grown up listening to my dad copy the Cockney accent, so that was pretty easy for me. The costumes came from a provider in Minneapolis, and they were gorgeous. Sets, props, everthing–it was amazing. Our director was our speech teacher, and he did a fabulous job.

It was definitely one of the most exciting things I’d done at that point in my life, and I loved it.

Yes, indeed, I’d want to be the lead!

Image result for pygmalion eliza

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/the-show-must-go-on/

6 thoughts on “I Want the Lead!

      1. I’ve never heard Julie Andrews perform it. I’ve just seen the movie with Audrey Hepburn and Rex Harrison. One of my favorite songs, “Why Can’t an Englishman Speak English?”

Leave a Reply

