My Life Code

Have you got a code you live by? What are the principles or set of values you actively apply in your life?

**********************

Wow, this is a hugely philosophical question that could take reams and reams of paper to answer.  So I think I’ll just make it short and to the point.

My code book is the Bible, the Word of God.  My goal is to become more Christ-like with every passing day.

In order to know what that entails, I am in the Word every day.  I love the Bible, and I love God.

There.  That was easy.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/i-walk-the-line/

Note to Grammer Nazis:  The title of this one should read “Do you have”  not “Have you got.”  Shudder.

8 thoughts on “My Life Code

    1. Cheryl, that’s an excellent question, and I’ll try to be as concise as I can.

      I accepted Jesus as my Savior when I was only five years old. Of course, I didn’t understand then all that I do now! But I understood that He loved me, and was willing to die in my place, for my sin, so that I could go to heaven someday to be with Him. I believed it then, and I believe it now. What has changed and grown over the years is my understanding of the incredible love of God, Who provided this amazing gift of salvation for me in spite of my unworthiness. I can go to heaven not because I am good, but because He is good.

      I’ve been privileged to be in excellent churches all my life, where the Word of God is taught and preached so that my understanding grew. As my understanding grew, so did my faith. I am passionate about my faith because God is passionate about me. The Bible says, “Greater love hath no man than this, that a Man should lay down His life for His friend (John 15:13). His love is beyond my understanding. I am thankful to have started my faith journey when I was so young, because it has given me time to continue to learn and grow.

      I am secure in my faith because I have seen the hand of God over and over in my own life, as well as in the lives of many other believers.

      Look at God’s creation! You will never, ever convince me that the universe and all it contains all just happened by accident. I believe in God the Creator, Who has given us everything we need for life and Godliness (2 Peter 1:3) and He has given us a world so outrageously beautiful in which to live out our lives.

      I have seen prayers answered more times than I can tell you. God loves me; it is His delight to give me what I need and sometimes what I don’t really need.

      I could go on for a very long time. I hope I’ve answered your question at least to some degree. You are welcome to message me privately if you would like, or we can just keep talking here; or maybe you’ve heard enough 🙂 In any case, thanks for asking. There’s nothing I’d rather talk about than Jesus!

      Also, I’d like to recommend you take a look at my other blog, http://www.lindasbiblestudy.wordpress.com. Maybe you’ll find some anwers there.

      Like

    1. Scripted biblical response. That’s interesting. Anyway, you’re very welcome. Please don’t hesitate to ask for more. I promise you, nothing will be scripted–although it will be biblical 🙂

      Like

  1. I have a lot of respect for you so I hope I don’t offend you with this next question. These are questions going through my head and not meant as a personal assault. . Have you ever doubted your faith. Have you ever considered that your beliefs may be based on years on indoctrination.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m not offended in the least. You can ask all the questions you like 🙂

      Have I ever doubted my faith? No. I have never doubted the truth of the gospel story of sin and salvation, of Jesus becoming the perfect Lamb of God Who was sacrificed in my place.

      My doubts have been more along the lines of my own sincerity. I’m about as human as anyone can be, and there are lots of times throughout my life when I haven’t been exactly Christ-like. That’s when I go to my Bible, and to prayer, and to uplifting Christian music and Christian friends who can help me get my thinking back on track.

      Indoctrination? I suppose some would look at it that way, but I don’t. There was no coercion. There was no threat of loss of standing or relationship if I didn’t toe the mark and be a good little Christian girl. I understand that not everyone has had that same kind of freedom, but I am thankful to say I’ve never felt restrained by my faith, but I have felt protected. Decisions that some people find difficult are easy for me because my life is based on biblical principles. For instance, both my husband and I were virgins when we married 46 years ago. Our choice. No one policed us. It’s the way we wanted it, because it’s the way we honored God.

      I cannot doubt my Bible-based beliefs when I see God work over and over in my life, providing needs and, often, just providing wants. He loves me. He made me, after all. Ephesians 2:10 says that I am His masterpiece! How about that 🙂

      I could tell you many stories of God’s provision and protection. Some of them you can find in the “stories” category of either one of my blogs.

      I believe in prayer, because I’ve seen it work.

      I believe in God not out of habit or indoctrination, but out of love and gratitude.

      Seems to me that atheists, too, are “indoctrinated” somewhere along the line, if you want to consider that. I suppose that any kind of teaching or training could be considered indoctrination, but if we don’t teach and train our kids we’d end up with a generation of little savages who have no sense of morality, right and wrong, simple decency.

      And that’s a whole other conversation. I’ve rattled on long enough 🙂 Nice to hear from you again.

      Like

  2. Justme

    Indoctrination may have to a bad choice of words. Habituation maybe? Organic chemistry is a lot easier for me to understand. God’s provision? Couldn’t that be a result of your hard work? Answered prayers? What about unanswered prayers.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. “Habituation” works, and doesn’t have quite the same connotation. However, as I said, I don’t know that anyone grows up without some sort of habituation. Each home, each family, has its own culture, its own set of mores, if you will. Some children, as they grow up, accept those things and internalize them. Others do not. There are plenty of homes where Christianity was the chosen path of the parents, but the children did not believe/accept it as their own. We all have that choice.

      I do believe in God’s provision; I also believe that He expects us to work for our living. His provision for us, along with the ability to work hard, has come through His people. My husband worked as the maintenance head for our church for many years, never making much money. Just enough to get by, no more. People helped us out in too many ways to count, and this is quite common in churches where Christ is the center. People take care of each other. There are other stories throughout my life when God provided in other ways. Most recently, I took a trip with two of my closest friends to the Gulf coast for a “girlfriend getaway.” The weather forecast for our destination was dismal–rain all day, every day. So we prayed, asking God to give us some good hours every day to be on the beach. It was amazing. We got four to five hours three days in a row. As we enjoyed the beach, we could see spots along the horizon where it was raining. But the rain held off where we were until we went back indoors. That was God’s gift to us, and a clear answer to prayer.

      Unanswered prayer? I’m not sure there is any such thing. Sometimes I don’t get what I ask for, but as time passes it becomes clear that what I was asking for wouldn’t have been the best thing. Parents don’t always fulfill every single request a child makes, because the parent has more wisdom than the child. God is not a genie who is required to grant my wishes. He is a loving Father Who takes care of me according to what He knows I need.

      Like

Leave a Reply

