Our Town

What do you love most about the city / town / place that you live in? What do you like the least about it? If you were mayor, what would be the most important problem you’d tackle? How would you tackle it?

*****************************

I love my town because it’s not a big city.  In fact, the downtown area is pretty small. Of course we have the requisite shopping malls and a whole string of fast food restaurants. We also have three Wawas! For those of you who aren’t from here, that’s a gas station/convenience store that majors in coffee. They do a booming business.

Anyway, we’re far enough away from Philadelphia to be considered “out in the country.” We’re only minutes away from farmland, lots of trees and undergrowth, rolling hills and beautiful views. Yet we have all the conveniences of the city, in my opinion at least.  We have a local theater, we have some big-name stores, and if that isn’t enough it’s only 45 minutes into Philly.  You don’t even have to drive if you don’t want to. You can pick up a train in Lansdale that takes you right into center city.

Our neighborhood has been completely trouble-free for over 20 years now.  It’s quiet, friendly, and healthy for families.  We have an abundance of trees and things that will be bursting into bloom soon, and the town will be turned into a fairy land.

What would I tackle first?  Well, the roads are awful.  Truly awful.  they are tire-bursting, wheel-breaking awful.

Seriously.  And I know a lot of it is not the town’s responsibility, but the state’s.  I get that.  But there is no safe way right now for me to leave my house and get to work.  I have to weave through the worst of the potholes and go very slowly where I can’t weave.  And we all pray that no one will be coming from the opposite direction at 70 mph, because that would just not be good. So yeah, I’d figure out a way to fix the streets.

School taxes continue to rise.  It’s out of control. I’m part of the baby boomer generation, with a retired husband on a fixed income.  I’ll be working for a long time yet, believe me!  We live in a very modest little rancher on about 3/4 acre, and our taxes are reaching stratospheric conditions.

Other than those two things, I guess I don’t really know much about town politics or problems. What few dealings I’ve had with the local police have been courteous and helpful. We don’t have problems, that I’m aware of, with gangs.  Of course drugs are ubiquitous, but no one’s offered to sell me anything lately.  I’m sure there are things that go on in other neighborhoods.  I’m not naive.  Can’t be, doing the work I do.

I’m happy in my town.  I’m thankful for that.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/we-built-this-city/

One thought on “Our Town

Leave a Reply

