Lemon

Vanilla, chocolate, or something else entirely?

****************************

(Here’s a P.S on this post. I’ve had some interesting responses to the chocolate bit, so I did some research.  Chocolate lovers, Unite!  There IS a reason we ladies love our chocolate! And smart men know that the way to a woman’s heart is through her chocolate gene 🙂  http://www.medicinehunter.com/chocolate_love_drug)

Chocolate is a food group, you know.  However, since I’ve written about chocolate before, I’m going in a different direction today.  Sorry, chocolate.  You’ll always be my first love, but you have to admit that variety is important.

When I was 10, in 1957, my family moved to Oregon. For the first year, we lived in Milwaukee, which was a delightful suburb of Portland.  I’ll always remember that summer.  It was truly idyllic.

Sometimes, in the evening when things were beginning to cool down, Dad would pile us into the car and drive out to another suburb. I can’t remember the name, but it was another little town that I would have enjoyed living in. He would drive to an ice cream shop that advertised 24 flavors.  That was a remarkable variety way back then!

He always ordered butter brickle.  It was the only ice cream he ever liked, and he enjoyed it for many years.

I don’t remember what Mom liked.  Seems to me she would change it up now and then.  And I don’t remember my sister’s favorite, either.  Maybe she’ll remind me if she reads this.

Me?  I loved lemon custard.  Nothing was so refreshing as the sweet-tart, rich custardy flavor of that ice cream; and I’ve never found anything just like it again. It was so good that I made it last as long as I could, savoring each little lick as if I’d never have another.  Of course, I had to take care of drips, but I could make that cone last most of the way home.

I still love lemon.  My daughter makes the best lemon curd cheesecake.  In fact, it reminds me of my lemon custard ice cream cone. Whenever she asks me what I’d like for a dessert, she knows that’s going to be one of my top choices.

Lemon.  First God created woman; then, to make her deleriously happy He created chocolate.  And finally, to round her out (in every sense of the word 🙂 )  He created lemon custard ice cream.

It’s a wonderful thing.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/32-flavors/

8 thoughts on “Lemon

  1. You had me at “Chocolate is a food group…” This post made me happy. I especially like “First God created woman; then, to make her deliriously happy He created chocolate. And finally, to round her out (in every sense of the word 🙂 ) He created lemon custard ice cream.” :D:D

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

