No Fear!

Write about your strongest memory of heart-pounding, belly-twisting nervousness: what caused the adrenaline? Was it justified? How did you respond?

***********************************

I either lead a very dull life, or I just don’t remember much. Or my nerves are so settled that nothing puts me into that kind of fear or dread any more.

Okay, I guess  I can think of something, although it was a very positive nervousness.  As each of my four pregnancies drew to an end, I truly did become very nervous and apprehensive about the delivery. Not that I ever had any problems; each of my pregnancies was relatively trouble-free, and the deliveries were normal.

I’m not one of those silly women who love to talk about how they nearly died with all fifteen babies 🙂

I was actually less apprehensive with the first one.  You don’t really know what you’re in for until you’ve been through it, and I found I was much more nervous about the second baby than I had been about the first.  My nerves were somewhat justified. The second delivery was more difficult. And the third, because he was a big guy.  The fourth, our daughter, was the fastest and the least difficult. 

Looking back, though, I have to be thankful for how normal it all was for me.  No emergencies, no C-sections, no troubles with the health or well-being of any of our babies.  No lasting ill effects from the pregnancies or deliveries.  I’ve never had a miscarriage.  After all, God made our bodies to accommodate pregnancy, and most of the time everything goes just as it should. My heart is always heavy for those who don’t find it as normal as I did, and especially for those who lose a baby at some point in the pregnancy.  I have a young friend who has three babies in heaven.  It’s hard to lose a baby, heartbreaking and painful.

So that’s it, really.  There are probably other stories, but they’re just not coming to the surface for me.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/fight-or-flight/

2 thoughts on “No Fear!

Leave a Reply

