Mood? Really?

What do you display on the walls of your home — photos, posters, artwork, nothing? How do you choose what to display? What mood are you trying to create?

********************************

(I had this laid out just perfectly, but when I posted it everything changed.  Sorry about all the white space.  I don’t have the patience to mess with it any more!)

I never thougt much about creating a mood 🙂  Most of the things hanging on my walls are family photos, needlework I’ve done, some artwork one of my sons did, and a gift or two that we treasure.  No mood intended.  We just put up what we like–usually family photos. 

Here are a few things I took pictures of this morning: Sorry about the quality.  Working with my iPhone camera, and I don’t know how to eidt for glare. This a the wedding photo of our second son and his lovely wife.

Next, a sketch done by my husband’s father as a preparatory piece for a sign he was working on. He was a gifted commercial artist, and some of his work still exists in and around the town of Iron River, Michigan.  I’ve always loved this bear, but he was never satisified with it, thought it was out of proportion. Couldn’t prove it by me

Next, a gift from our oldest son and his wife on our 40th anniversary; a copy of the first page of the Guttenberg Bible:

Fourth, a calligraphy piece done by Ken when he was in high school.

The last piece is a crewel embroidery thing I did many, many years ago.  As you can see, we have a conglomeration of things that don’t carry a theme. I’m sure we wouldn’t qualify for a glossy magazine of beautifully decorated houses. But we love what we have because each of our kids is represented, or the piece evokes a memory that we treasure.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/wall-to-wall/

5 thoughts on “Mood? Really?

  1. I love the calligraphy work! Beautiful! And the collection of things that you think don’t match up is what makes a house yours – they match because they all mean something to you and those who live there.

  2. Hmmm . . . I guess our house, a cottage in the country, just cries out “make me look homey.” On the walls, I have a welcome sign, family photos, a little framed picture my brother and his wife gave us, a barometer, blue and white plates, a few clocks, and in the kitchen, some copper pieces and a painting. After making this list, I see how eclectic I am in my decorating, and you know what? I like it!

Leave a Reply

