Morton’s Fork? What’s That?

If you had to choose between being able to write a blog (but not read others’) and being able to read others’ blogs (but not write your own), which would you pick? Why?

**********************

Every day forever?  And would the same thing apply to everyone else?  Ok, I’m just going to assume this is a choice only for me, for today only.

I would choose to write my own.

Why?  I’m not sure.  Selfish, maybe.  I want to write. Egocentric?  Perhaps. Don’t we all write with the hope that others will read our great words of wisdom, humor, profundity and commone sense?

Time is a factor.  There are days when it takes me only a couple of minutes to write, but hours to read what everyone else has said. There are days when i just don’t get it done.  I’m working, I’m busy with family, friends, church, etc. and I may not get very far down the grid.

There are days, however, when the prompt doesn’t prompt me.  Maybe on those days I would choose just to read what others have written.

And that’s about all I have to say.

So I googled Morton’s Fork.  Never heard the term before.  Here’s what I found: 

“Morton’s Fork an argument used by the English prelate and statesman John Morton (c.1420–1500), as Chancellor in demanding gifts for the royal treasury: if a man lived well he was obviously rich and if he lived frugally then he must have savings.”

Huh.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/mortons-fork/

6 thoughts on “Morton’s Fork? What’s That?

  1. I never heard of “Morton’s fork” either, but when I read the definition it makes sense. He wanted money for the treasury. The rich had it and the poor must have some stashed away somewhere, too. So to both groups he says, “Fork it over, guys.” Interesting philosophy.

    You did well with a prompt that’s very…well…whatever. 🙂

Leave a Reply

