I QUIT!

When was the last time you were ready to throw in the proverbial towel? Did you end up letting go, or decided to fight on anyway?

**********************

I don’t quit easily or often. The only time I’ve given up recently is with a client I’d been seeing for over six months, and I’ve already written about that.

Wait.  I know.  There is something at which I quit regularly—which tells you how good I am at quitting.

I’ve tried every diet known to man, and a few that no one ever heard of.  I’ve made resolutions to exercise consistently, give up chocolate, butter, ice cream, and  lasagna.  In other words, all the foods I like.

I want you to know, by the way, that it’s been about nine months since I had a doughnut.  That’s a major victory.

So what I want to know is, why is it that the foods I crave, the foods I love, are the ones that make me fat? (Noooooo! Please don’t write and lecture me about that! It was a rhetorical statement!)

And just a side note here.  I read recently that vegetables can slow down one’s metabolism.  Well, there you go.  I’ve eaten at least the equivalent of the size of the earth in salads over the last ten years, and guess what?  I’m still the size of the earth. Yeah, that worked.

The good news is that I did lose ten pounds last year.

Quit laughing, it’s not funny.  For those of you snooty types who can lose ten pounds just by thinking about it, I want you to know that I WILL find you, and you won’t know I’m there.  And your demise will be horrible, because I will dump a truckload of ice cream, whipping cream, and hot fudge all over you, and you won’t be able to eat your way out.  Bwahahahahaha!

I’ve quit more diets than have ever been written.  I’ve sworn off buying diet books. I’ve sworn off counting calories.  I am making an effort to move more, although my hinky hip and wonky back are making that a bit chancy right now.  Still, I’m trying.

I cook healthy stuff.  I cook clean.  I know people who have dropped dozens of pounds doing exactly what I’m doing.  I haven’t even made it to ONE dozen yet, but so far I’m not quitting.

Don’t pity me.  I’m doing quite well at that all by myself.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/enough-is-enough/

10 thoughts on “I QUIT!

  1. Pingback: That stupid towel… | The Hempstead Man

  2. Pingback: enough already! | Musings of a Random Mind

  3. I loved this post — especially the quote in the little box. 🙂
    When I was first diagnosed with CLL my doctor told me one of the effects is when the patient loses a lot of weight with no effort or diet. Lately, as we discussed it I told him I was refusing all treatment until I’d lost all that weight he promised I’d lose. There’s got to be a ‘silver lining’ here somewhere. 🙂

Leave a Reply

