My Favorite Heroine

If you could spend the next year as someone radically different from the current “you” — a member of a different species, someone from a different gender or generation, etc. — who would you choose to be?

*****************************

Elizabeth Bennet in Pride and Prejudice would be my first pick. Smart, witty, sensible, spirited, loving her witless mother and sisters in spite of how vastly empty their heads are; admiring her passive father, and close to her lovely older sister–who wouldn’t want to be Elizabeth?  And she gets The Most Handsome Eligible Bachelor and goes to live in a fabulous castle on a fabulous estate.

I admire her for the way she deals with adversity when it comes.  I especially admire the way she stood up to snooty  Lady Catherine, who was under the impression that she ruled the world. I love the way she was able to keep her own counsel and not spout off with something she’d be embarrassed over later.  She was the perfect heroine, and is still a favorite–especially since the movie came out starring Colin Firth and  Jennifer Ehle.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/new-skin/

8 thoughts on “My Favorite Heroine

      1. I had to go look her up! I don’t think I’ve read anything of hers. It’s a new name to me. I’ll have to check out her stuff–looks like something I’d enjoy.

  1. She’s an American romance author. I’ve only read two of her books, it’s a two-book set: The Lost Duke of Wyndham & Mr. Cavendish, I Presume. I read the Indonesian version books, since it’s very difficult to find the english version here.

Leave a Reply

