My Hero

Who’s your hero? Tell us a story about why that person plays such an important role in your life.

47b8dc05b3127cce98548ef976d400000047100BYtHDdy4ZMY

Terry.  No doubt about it.  He’d be embarrassed to death to know I put his picture up, but he doesn’t  usually read what I write here, so I think I’m safe 🙂

This picture was taken several Christmases ago, can’t remember exactly.  Five years, maybe?

So why is he my hero? Well, he still loves me after more than 45 years.

He’s always put himself last on the priority list.  He doesn’t like peope to fuss over him.  He doesn’t take well to pampering or coddling. He’s worked his fingers to the bone to provide for me and our kids down through the years.  He’s a man’s man, brave and fearless when he does whatever needs to be done.

He absolutely loves our kids, no conditions. He adores our grandkids, but then, who wouldn’t?

Most important, he loves the Lord Jesus Christ with all his heart and soul. He is a student of God’s Word, reading faithfully every day for an hour or more. He is a man who believes in prayer.  He is honest, loyal, and dedicated to doing his best.

In the last 2 1/2 years, Terry has suffered some pretty awful pain. He smashed his heel bone in a fall 2 1/2 years ago, endured the repairative surgery and the chronic pain that has followed.  Then he got the shingles, and still has flares of pain from that. Then he hurt his back, and has since developed senile osteoporosis. That disease has robbed him of about five inches of height, compressing his spine and causing vertabrae fractures.  Still, he puts in hours every day here at home. He’s doing the lion’s share of the work on my new kitchen, although we have been blessed with the help of some wonderful and generous friends. He’s working on getting my car back on the road, searching for the right part to make everything work. He hasn’t stopped or given in to his pain, and I don’t think he will until the last time he lies down before he opens his eyes in heaven.

Sometimes he regrets what he sees as his failures as a dad, but our three sons and our daughter wouldn’t trade him for any other dad on earth.

He’s my hero.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/my-hero-2/

12 thoughts on “My Hero

  1. Pingback: Hot Food Hero (to go) | Murder & missadventure

  2. Claire

    Very sweet, I hope to be so lucky to have such a long, loving marriage. Your relationship is an inspiration at a time when marriage, fidelity, and living righteously are not widely practiced. Today, you are my hero, Granoine, thank you sincerely for sharing your story.

    Like

Leave a Reply

