Love It!

The holiday season: can’t get enough of it, or can’t wait for it all to be over already? Has your attitude toward the end-of-year holidays changed over the years?

************************

I love Christmas. Always have. Right this minute, I’m enjoying having slept in until 8:15 on this my first full day of being on my Christmas break.  What’s not to like?  I don’t go back to work until January 6.  Nineteen days!  I’m an independent contractor, so I can pick and choose when I work and when I don’t. At this stage of my life, that’s a real sweet situation.

But Christmas isn’t just about time off.  I understand, largely because of the work I do, that Christmas is the most difficult time of year for a lot of people.  Some of my clients have dreadful memories of Christmas Past that make them cringe at the appearance of Christmas Present and Future.  If you came from a radically dysfunctional family, then you laugh in derision at the song It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year.  

If you are not a person of faith, Christmas may not have deep meaning for you. When that is the case, it becomes just another commercialized holiday, hyped out of reason and way overdone.  Even for those of us who celebrate the true, deep meaning of Christmas, the hullabaloo around gifting and spendingspendingspending can put a damper on the joy.

“For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth on Him should not perish, but have everlasting life.” John 3:16

I remember many years ago, reading Laura Ingalls Wilder’s description of Christmas on the prairie, thinking, “That’s the way it should be.  There should be a sense of holiness, of quietness of spirit, of peace and hope and joy. The emphasis should be not on what I get or give, but on what the world received.”

And that, clearly, is the whole reason we have Christmas. What the world received when the Son of God agreed to be born as a human baby, to live and minister and die to get the victory over sin and death, that is why Christmas is a precious time. Let the rest of the world do as they wish to minimize this wonderful celebration’s true meaning, it has never changed for me. The holiness of the coming of the Christ Child overshadows all the glitz and glitter and get and give.

The gifts that are exchanged in our family are always delightful and fun, but we never let the gifting process become the center of Christmas. We give gifts because the Wise Men brought gifts to Jesus, knowing that He was the King of Kings. Everything we do at Christmas is based on this most wonderful fact, that Jesus was born to die that we might live forever with Him.

When we keep our sites firmly fixed on what Christmas is really about, we can keep the joy and the peace even in the midst of the craziness that can rule the season.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/getting-seasonal/  Yay!  the pings are back 🙂

9 thoughts on “Love It!

  1. I think the key to Christmas is to celebrate it exactly that way you do. Don’t let yourself stray from the sanctity of the meaning, and then it becomes something deeply spiritual and not just the superficial.

      1. Mine, too. When I was a social worker I saw a lot of sad family situations. Last year the inner city church I half-attend threw a Christmas party for the families in the neighborhood. The gifts we gave were the only ones some of them would receive. One little boy showed me his package and said, “I’m not going to open mine, I’m going to put it under my tree.” Bless his sweet little heart. I pray that the Love of God touches each heart this Christmas – in big ways, in small ways, in profound and healing and hopeful ways.

  2. Pingback: Getting Seasonal – Christmas and New Year | Jesus Saviour

  3. Yes. Christmas without the reverence is painful. There are many faiths that have a holiday at this time of year… we should *all* be enjoying peace instead of fighting. My heart breaks when I read a news article about someone getting hurt in a stampede for cheap gifts.

  4. Last Christmas I wished a person who had helped me a lot a Merry Christmas thinking that most people in the US might be celebrating Christmas in some form or the other. Imagine my surprise when I got a reply ” Happy Holidays” – I wonder if I offended her by wishing her at Christmas. Perhaps she didn’t have good memories of Christmas or perhaps I should have known better by scrutinising her surname and finding out if she celebrated but it still worries me.

    1. yYou have nothing to worry about. If she were offended, she probably would have told you. The “happy holidays” greeting has been around for a very long time, and some feel it is more politically correct. Me? I don’t care one bit about political correctness.

Leave a Reply

