No Writing Prompt Today

Apparently WordPress isn’t going to put up a new prompt today, at least not at the usual time. So I’ve been thinking about how dependent I’ve become on that little daily nudge to get me writing, and it’s both a good and a bad thing.

If I do the daily prompt, then I’ve done my writing assignment for the day.

If I do the daily prompt, then I don’t have to write anything else until I work on the next post for my Bible study blog.

I’m off the hook. I’ve been creative, maybe witty and funny, maybe serious, maybe just dull.

Word Press has been struggling with the writing prompt pingback for some time now.  Makes me wonder if they’re using the same web design folks that Mr. O is using for his healthcare boondoggle bloggle. I miss it. You meet lots of helpful, encouraging other bloggers who are also wannabe writers, and a few of them actually are published. That helps motivate the rest of us.

One of my co-bloggers has dubbed the daily prompt guy Wordy. I think that’s pretty cute.  Well, Wordy, I sure hope you’re getting things back in order, because I’m hearing rumblings from other bloggers that there may be a vast migration to other blog sites if things don’t get back on track pretty soon.

I don’t want to migrate.  I’m used to it here.  I understand how things work here.  Please don’t force me to learn yet another computer dealy where things all work differently from what I’m used to.  I’m old, and my brain is leaking cells out my ears into the ether, never to be recovered.

Boy, have I ever wandered down some rabbit trails here. I always enjoyed it when Bill Keane, creator of The Family Circus  comic strip, would draw one of Billy’s wanderings.  That’s kind of the way I feel today.

So I wrote something a couple of weeks ago that a fellow blogger liked, and he said he could see it developed into a whole book involving different scenarios from my work.  I’d never thought of doing that before. I’ve written little bits and pieces, but never considered making a novel out of it. I’ve been thinking about it ever since, though, you can be sure.

So that’s all for today. Maybe tomorrow there’ll be another prompt, or maybe they’re close to getting the pingbacks working.

One can hope.

10 thoughts on “No Writing Prompt Today

Leave a Reply

