Let Me Count the Tools?

You have to write a message to someone dear to you, telling that person how much he/she means to you. However — instead of words, you can only use 5-10 objects to convey your emotions. Which objects do you choose, and what do they mean?

***********************

According to one study I enjoy and use often in marital counseling, everyone has a particular love language through which he best perceives and shows that he is loved.  Terry’s primary love language is acts of service. That means he shows his love for the people in his life by what he does for them.  It also means that he best understands that he IS loved by the acts of service others do for him.

So, knowing that, Here is what I would give him:

1. A study Bible that he can mark up and write notes in to his heart’s content

2. A loaf of homemade, gluten-free and dairy-free bread. 

3. A stack of clean, folded laundry

4. His favorite meal

5. A tool belt

Now, you may not think that’s very romantic, and it’s not unless you’re an acts-of-service kind of guy. Let me tell you about each item.

Terry spends lots of time studying the Bible. He likes to write things down, but he tends to lose track of his pages of notes. Getting him a Bible that has lots of writing space?  Well, he’d love that. He wouldn’t have to keep tracking down his notes. I may have just given myself an idea for his perfect Christmas gift this year 🙂

Bread.  I’ve baked our bread for over 45 years, and when I had to learn to make it gluten-free, I’ll admit I found it annoying to have to change my routine. But I did the research, tried several recipes, and finally came up with one that he really enjoys.  He knows I spent a good deal of time on it. It means the world to him.

Laundry is something I do for him because I want to. He tried to take it over from me when he retired, but I told him I didn’t want him to.  I enjoy doing this for him. It helps me keep track of mending, buttons, spots and stains that he would never catch.

Cooking for him?  Well, the way to a man’s heart, you know 🙂

He’s never used a tool belt that I can remember.  He is, however, constantly misplacing things that he might keep track of better if he were wearing them.  Or not.  He has serious ADD.  He’d probably misplace the belt.

But hey, it’s the thought that counts!

4 thoughts on “Let Me Count the Tools?

Leave a Reply

