Your Dead

As it’s been a while since our last free-write… set a timer for ten minutes. Write without pause (and no edits!) until you’re out of time. Then, publish what you have (it’s your call whether or not to give the post a once-over).

*******************

So, it started snowing yesterday in the late afternoon, and looks as if it snowed gently overnight. There may be about two inches on the ground, nothing that will slow down traffic or cause problems unless there is ice underneath.

I haven’t gotten my Christmas shopping well in hand at all.  Which leads me to think of a Grammarly post I saw this week.  Many people are offended by the X in Xmas, feeling it leaves Christ out.  I don’t much like it myself, because it just doesn’t mean much to most people. But in fact, the X, which is Greek for Chi, pronounced ki with a long i, is the first letter in Christ’s name, and it was often used as a symbol of recognition among Christians during the early persecutions followin the return of Christ to heaven. Nothing wrong with it. Just not very meaningful to those of us who didn’t grow up speaking Greek 🙂

Grammarly is one of my favorite sites.  I’m a grammar nazi, and I wear my badge with pride. Don’t worry, I will never correct your grammar here. I don’t do that.  I do notice errors, though, and was appalled yesterday to see one in my own post that I had missed when I proofed it.  I used “your” instead of “you’re,” which is a mistake I just don’t make. Well, obviously I do. But not very often.

I saw a picture the other day of a guy who had tatooed “your” on the knuckles of one hand, and “dead” on the other.  Hmmmm.  Your dead what?  What do you have that is dead?  I hope it’s not smelly, and if it is I hope you don’t have to carry it around with you.  

And here’s another example of grammar nazi humor.  I was using a stall in a rest stop in Colorado.  On the inside of the door, I read this sign:  “Toilet flushes upon leaving stall.”

Bwahahaha!  I had a vivid mental picture of the toilet leaving the stall, flushing, then backing into its spot again.

It doesn’t take much to make me laugh 🙂

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/ready-set-done-7/

16 thoughts on “Your Dead

  1. Grammar… not my strong point. Something I freely admit to struggling with, and being a writer (self proclaimed, of course), I get chided by the fact that I have such struggles. I am working on it, but I just don’t think I will ever get to the point where I care enough. So, by all means, if you see an error in my blogs, fire away.

    Like

  2. Your dead…as in “Bring out your dead.”. He’s a Monty Python fan.
    (Don’t worry, I do the it’s its far more often than their there they’re. Without its and it’s, editors wouldn’t earn they’re (heh) pay.

    Like

    1. I would never have made that connection, not being a Python fan. I think I was too young to appreciate him 🙂

      I can’t stand it when I make those particular goofs. After so many years of teaching English, it grieves me to my toenails to be so careless.

      Like

  3. Pingback: The Trail | Murder & missadventure

Leave a Reply

