No Change

When’s the last time you followed your instinct despite not being sure it was the right thing to do? Did it end up being the right call?

***********************

I had a client recently who absolutely refused to make any progress.  Week after week, I heard the same litany of complaints, the same blame laid on everyone else, the same excuses offered for why there was no change. 

It is so rare for me to “fire” a client that I had to consider long and hard before I followed my instinct on this one. Finally, I warned the person that if I didn’t see something tangible in the next month, I was going to terminate our sessions.

I guess she didn’t believe me. She was shocked when, a month later, I told her this would be our last session. She demanded to know why. I told her. She cried and carried on and threatened to report me to my licensing board.

Unmoved, I quietly gave her the contact information so she could follow through on her threat. She did complain to my supervisor, and she complained to her pastor. Both of those wise gentlemen agreed with my decision and supported me in it.

I haven’t heard anything from my licensing board.  I doubt that I will. This is a person who doesn’t really want to change; she wants everyone around her to change.

My instincts were right on the mark, and I’m glad I followed my gut.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/gut-feeling/

5 thoughts on “No Change

  1. Pingback: Gut Feeling | Jesus Saviour

  2. Following instincts can be hard because we want to be sure… so we second guess ourselves. I’ve recently had to give in to my “gut” feelings about somethings and, I’ve discovered when the time is right, it is truly liberating. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

