New Girl

“If I can make it there, I’ll make it anywhere,” goes the famous song about New York City. Is there a place — a city, a school, a company — about which you think (or thought) the same? Tell us why, and if you ever tried to prove that claim.

************************

I don’t remember ever thinking this. I’m trying to imagine myself in such a situation, and I’m drawing a complete blank. Maybe that’s because we moved around a lot when I was a kid, and when you move a lot, you have to figure out how to adapt to each new place, to “make it,” wherever the next move lands you.

I suppose the most difficult move was the one from Oregon back to Minnesota when I was 14.  There were only six weeks of school left, and I was in my freshman year. I had attended Grant High School in Portland,  a typical big-city school with nearly 1000 students. We were moving to a little farm town in southern Minnesota where my dad would become the pastor of a little Baptist church.

I was used to being “the new kid,” but somehow this particular move seemed harder than all the others. Maybe that’s partly because I would be changing schools with so little time left in the school year. Maybe it was moving from the city to the country.  I did love Oregon, and I wasn’t thrilled about returning to MInnesota where the mosquitoes would get you if the humidity didn’t. And of course, I had a boyfriend in Portland. Big, big bummer.

The story had a wonderfully happy ending, though.  We stayed in that town long enough for me to finish high school.  Three years in the same school!  Wow!  My classmates welcomed me, and it wasn’t long before I had found my niche and was doing just fine.

I believe in the saying that you need to bloom where you’re planted. You can make it anywhere, if you decide that you can. Sometimes it’s hard, nearly impossible, but there’s almost always a way to “make it.”

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/make-it-anywhere/

4 thoughts on “New Girl

Leave a Reply

