Thanks!

Is there a person you should’ve thanked, but never had the chance? Is there someone who helped you along the way without even realizing it? Here’s your chance to express your belated gratitude.

************************

This could be a very long post. It won’t, because I don’t have time.  Just saying.

Teachers.  First grade, Miss Erickson who broke my heart by getting married and becoming Mrs. Somebody. Can’t remember her new last name. She recognized my love of reading and let me forge ahead, out of the totally boring Dick and Jane readers into more challenging books. She also let me write a class newsletter every week. What a wise woman she was, not forcing me to sit there and die of boredom in reading circle! 

A music teacher whose name I don’t remember heard me harmonzing while my sixth grade class was singing White Christmas. Some of the other kids didn’t understand what I was doing and wanted me to stop it, but she made a big deal out of how pretty harmony is, and encouraged me to keep on singing.

Miss Rogness, sophomore English teacher, who recognized my love of writing and my slowly developing sense of humor, and encouraged both.  Mr. Miller, senior speech teacher who let me be Eliza in Pygmalion. Absolutely one of the highlights of my senior year.

College.  Music again. I don’t know why I can’t remember his name. Usually have no problem. Ah!  Don Scoville. He heard my sister and me singing alto in a choir rehearsal for church, came up close to listen, and told us both he wanted us to try out for the college choir. It was more of an order than a request. I will never forget singing The Messiah in my sophomore year with full orchestra, organ, piano, and some incredibly gifted soloists. Fabulous experience.  Also traveled with the touring choir in my sophomore year, another story all by itself.

Dr. Clearwaters, pastor of Fourth Baptist Church in Minneapolis.  Dr. Richard Harris, founding pastor of Bethel Baptist Church in Sellersville, PA.  My dad, Pastor John Fullmer, who was an outstanding Bible teacher and preacher.  Three of the most important teachers in my life.

And that’s enough for now.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/never-too-late/

Leave a Reply

