Not So Risky

When was the last time you took a risk (big or small), and pushed your own boundaries — socially, professionally, or otherwise? Were you satisfied with the outcome?

***********************

I’m not really much of a risk-taker, although some may think differently.  I suppose a huge risk for me was to go back to school at age 50 to earn a master’s degree so I could do private practice counseling.  I wasn’t afraid of the academic pressure, knew I was up to that.  My fear was that I would go through all that work, get my degree, get my license, and then not have any business.

That process started  17 years ago, and believe me, I have all the business I want or need.  Yes, I am very satisfied with the outcome.  I’ll be even more satisfied when that pesky student loan is paid off.

On another risk, about two-and-a-half years ago I opened my first blog. Since it is narrowly focused, I knew my readership would grow slowly.  It has. However, it grows consistently, and I’m very happy with the way it’s being received. Then, this past April, I decided I needed another blog that would give me more scope for creative writing, writing just for the fun of it. And I found the daily prompts, which has introduced me to a community of encouraging, helpful friends in cyberspace. This one is growing much faster.  I am so amazed and gratified at the response.

So yes, these “risks” have turned out quite well.  Who knows what’s around the next corner!

/http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/envelope-pushers/

Leave a Reply

