Red Hot!

If “failure is the condiment that gives success its flavor” (Truman Capote), how spicy do you like your success stories?

**************************

Most of us, unless we are unusually gifted or brainy or just plain lucky, work very hard and fail many times before we hit our stride and become successful. The lessons we learn when we fail are what contribute to our successes, if we’re paying attention at all.

Even if we do succeed without multiple failures, sweat and dedication are a part of the formula for that success.  I believe it was the inventor Thomas Edison who said that success is 99% perspiration and 1% inspiration.  Smart man.

So, yeah, I’d like my success story to be hot like the hottest curry from India, or the hottest Mexican dish out there.  Spicy, bursting with flavor and heat, eye-watering, gasping spicy. 

After all, don’t YOU want everyone around you to know when you’ve finally “made it”?  Success is measured in different ways by different people, and I don’t care if I’m ever famous.  I would just like to know, at the end of my life, that I lived it well and wisely.  I want to be able to meet my Savior and hear, “Well done, thou good and faithful servant.”

That would give a whole lot of sweetness to the spice.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/the-spice-of-success/

5 thoughts on “Red Hot!

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt; The Spice of Success | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

Leave a Reply

