Slow Fall, Fast Winter

If you could slow down an action that usually zooms by, or speed up an event that normally drags on, which would you choose, and why?

**********************

I’d love to be able to put the seasons on rewind.  I’d slow down spring and fall to a snail’s pace, savoring every moment of spring’s fresh beauty and fall’s glorious color.  I’d speed through the dog days of summer and the sleety, icy days of winter. I never thought I’d feel this way about winter.  Where I grew up, there was tons of snow, but it was dry compared to what comes here in my corner of PA.  It wasn’t as slippery and dangerous, and it was great for winter sports.  Here, it’s often very wet and heavy.  Then it freezes again overnight and results in dangerous roads and sidewalks. The streets are more narrow than in the Midwest, creating parking misery for those who live in densely populated neighborhoods in which they have to park on the streets.

Because of the tendency to freeze/thaw so often during the winter, our roads buckle and heave and have earned us the nickname of Pottsylvania because of the size of the potholes.  Our road crews work valiantly to keep up, but there are still some places that haven’t been repaired from last winter. I can’t even imagine how bad it will be by spring, if the predictions for this coming winter turn out to be correct.

Yes indeed, if I could, I’d rewind the seasons. Spring and fall would be in slow motion, and summer and winter would be on fast forward. Wouldn’t that be loverly?

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/pace-oddity/

9 thoughts on “Slow Fall, Fast Winter

  1. I agree wholeheartedly. Avid birder that I am, I love the season when the birds return and start making their nests, and also the clouds of birds we see here in the fall. At the same time, it seems like life itself is speeding by so fast. 😦
    What a picture! We often have -40 for a week after Christmas/early Jan, but our snow is dry and some winters we don’t get so much. And there are no hills here to go sliding down. When we travel through PA we take note of all those “Runaway truck ramp” signs on your freeways and glance nervously in the rear-view mirror. 🙂

    Like

    1. Yes, it’s very different here from Minnesota, where I spent most of my growing up years. What surprises me is that there aren’t more of the kind of pile-ups this picture shows!

      Like

Leave a Reply

