Crazy Busy

We all seem to insist on how busy, busy, busy we constantly are. Let’s put things in perspective: tell us about the craziest, busiest, most hectic day you’ve had in the past decade.

***********************

In the past decade?  Really, you expect me to remember that?  I mean, I have trouble remembering last WEEK!  There are 3,650 days in a decade, right?  And I’m supposed to pick out my busiest, craziest day.  

How about today instead?  I write two blog posts most mornings, here on my writing blog, and here.

Then I need to finish cleaning the house, because my son is coming up today to help his dad with some things and then we’re going to celebrate his 39th birthday. A couple of good, old friends are coming over to help.  I have an apple pie to make, a chicken to roast, salad and vegetables to prepare.

I also need to to pay some bills, clean up my desk (again) and get some laundry under control.  There will be a quick trip to the store, although my husband may take care of that for me.

It may not seem like much to some of you younger souls out there who still have a passel of kids to take care of, maybe a job outside your home, and so on.  Been there, done that. I suppose my busiest days were when my four kids were all in junior high/high school, all involved in extra-curriculars, and my husband was on the road a lot while I worked full-time as a teacher. Yeah, those were busy years.

The thing is, as your body slows down, the work load tends to slow down to accommodate that. I’m 67 now, and so thankful I don’t have to keep up that hectic pace of 25-30 years ago.

And thankful that I can still do all I need to do; I can still work at a job I love, still take care of my own home, still be involved with family and friends.

Busy is a blessing.  Be thankful.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/out-of-breath/

3 thoughts on “Crazy Busy

  1. Busy is definitely a blessing. I loathe being bored so I will go out of my way to occupy every minute just so my mind doesn’t have time to stop and start circling round on those negative thoughts! To me, your day sounds wonderful, full of small joys and I wish your son a very happy birthday 🙂

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Out of Breath | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  3. I would say you still have a crazy busy day with or with out little ones. I know I have one little guy and we kept it simple all day we all lounged untill about 5 then went to the park. Have a nice evening with your son!

Leave a Reply

