Equality

Unequal Terms

Did you know today is Blog Action Day? Join bloggers from around the world and write a post about what inequality means to you. Have you ever encountered it in your daily life?

***************************

I’d rather talk about what equality means to me. I’m just not in the mood to get all hot and bothered about inequality, which means vastly different things to different people.

As an American, well-taught in history before the revisionists started changing it, I take great pride in our founding documents.  The Declaration of Independence is the source of my mini-rant today.  The sentence that includes the words all men are created equal  has been the source of much debate over the years, and has been sadly misconstrued as often as it has been properly understood.

Anyone with an ounce of common sense understands that we are NOT all created equal in terms of, for instance, intelligence, talent, personality, appearance, and so on.  Each of us is different from everyone else in some way, like snowflakes. No two are exactly identical, and in that sense are unequal.

I say, viva la difference!  What a boring world it would be if we were nothing but a bunch of exactly equal clones.  Some work harder than others, some read more than others, some are gifted in areas that others are not.  Unequal.

There are those in today’s mixed-up society who would like us to believe that if we are gifted or capable in some way, we need to share that with everyone else.  Especially if that gift happens to be in making a lot of money, they say, we need to “share” the wealth.  Forced sharing has always been extremely annoying to me.  If I have no choice but to “share,” and I put quotes around that because I don’t believe forced sharing is sharing at all, then I am not sharing out of a heart of good will, but out of a desire to avoid fines and/or imprisonment.

Anyway, back to the topic at hand.  How, then, are all men created equal?  And by the way, I need to say here that the masculine embraces the feminine.  The Declaration was written before the equality police got hold of simple grammar rules. They’ve managed to complicate what used to be simple.

All men are created equal before God.

All men are created eqaul before the law, which is a lot more complicated and muddled up by human incompetence, greed, and dishonesty.  It’s a work in progress.  But the original intent was that everyone had an equal opportunity under the law to be found innocent or guilty by a fair and just process of law.

All men are created equal in opportunity to succeed or, as was later said, to the pursuit of happiness. The opportunity is there.  The ability or capacity of each individual to make the most of that opportunity is not equal; the opportunity itself certainly is the same for all.

Much more could be said, but I have to get ready to go to work.  Isn’t that a great blessing?  At age 67, female, coming from a very low-income background, I am now an independent contractor with a financially rewarding job that is also rewarding on many other levels.  I can work as much or as little as I please.  No one handed me this position as a freebie.  I worked hard to be where I am today, and I’m still paying off the student loan I accrued when I went back to school at age 50.

Equal opportunity.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/unequal-terms/

9 thoughts on “Equality

      1. I remember a family, years ago, whose bathtub was propped up outside the house and never used because they “couldn’t afford” to have it installed. They had a big color TV, though. And a new car.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes. And strangely enough, there are those who rail against those they see as over-privileged, who have worked hard to achieve their success and who also provide jobs for others. Strange way to think.

      Like

  1. Pingback: (Lack of) Equality | It's Mayur Remember?

Leave a Reply

