The Past, Please

One-Way Street

Congrats! You’re the owner of a new time machine. The catch? It comes in two models, each traveling one way only: the past OR the future. Which do you choose, and why?

****************************

If I knew what was in the future, personally or for society at large, I don’t think I’d want to go there.  I’ll take the past.  I love history, always did. Even when I first started reading, I enjoyed books and stories about people in the past, the way they lived, how they survived, how they thought, how they were different from us today and still very much like us.

Learning about the past helps us understand today.  Tomorrow  will take care of itself, and there’s no avoiding it.  I’d rather each day be opened up like a gift at Christmas, one pretty bow and one piece of wrapping paper at a time. Open the box carefully, then examine what’s inside and enjoy the possibilities. I don’t want to open each gift all at once. Ruins the fun.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/one-way-street/

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/one-way-street/

8 thoughts on “The Past, Please

  1. That’s a nice way of looking at it, but I have this insatiable curiosity tat makes me yearn to be able to see what might be, because we already know, pretty much, what the past is and can’t – maybe shouldn’t – change it 🙂

      1. It can be so interesting if you look in the right places. I hope she has checked with the Mormon Library. Although not Mormon myself, they keep the best records for genealogy.

  2. Pingback: Life is indeed a One-Way Street | kriztina ✿

Leave a Reply

