Prepare, Plan, Perform!

Big Day Ahead

It’s the night before an important event: a big exam, a major presentation, your wedding. How do you calm your nerves in preparation for the big day?

************************

I’m not a last-minute fingernail biter. I don’t white-knuckle the last 24 hours before a big moment because my heart just couldn’t take it. 

I planned my wedding down to the last detail, had a calendar set up just for that purpose, had deadlines for every single thing that needed to be done. My mom thought it was funny, but it sure saved everyone a lot of stress.

Tests, exams?  Study all through the pre-test period. Don’t wait until the night before. That’s just dumb.

A major presentation?  Well, I have to admit, I’m a ham. I actually enjoy public speaking, so this one just isn’t a problem for me. Prepare, plan, perform–and have a blast doing so.

It hasn’t always been this way.  It’s a learned skill. I think, the older one grows, the calmer. Life is just too short to be wasting time in worry.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/big-day-ahead/

7 thoughts on “Prepare, Plan, Perform!

  1. I could not put it any better, it is a skill that you develop with time. In the past, I would worry a lot more than today. Now, although I still feel anxious or nervous at certain occasions, I also know how to control it a lot better. “Life is just too short to be wasting time in worry.” I could not agree any more with this. Nicely put.

  2. Pingback: Big Day Ahead | Blogged With Words

Leave a Reply

