Picky? Not Me!

Mouths Wide Shut

Are you a picky eater? Share some of your favorite food quirks with us (the more exotic, the better!). Omnivores: what’s the one thing you won’t eat?

************************

Let’s get the “what you won’t eat” question out of the way.  I wrote about that here and I don’t want to talk about it ever again, please.

Now. I am not a picky eater.  I wasn’t allowed to be. There are things I disliked as a child that I enjoy very much now. That’s what can happen when you are told “One bite.  You have to at least taste it.”  Apparently our taste buds change, grow, expand, or something as we’re growing up.  I didn’t like grave. Love it now.  Didn’t like the stuffing in the turkey, wasn’t really wild about turkey.  All good now.  Oh, wait. There is something else. My dad loved sauerkraut, and we had it every now and then, usually with boiled hot dogs.

Don’t boil hot dogs.  Makes them nasty.  And canned sauerkraut really ought to be banned.  If Michelle O really wants to regulate what we eat, then let her start with canned sauerkraut.

I really can’t think of anything else. I love food. So many tastes, textures, colors.  I love preparing a meal that will have contrasting colors on the plate to please the eye. Never serve white meat with white potatoes, white cauliflower, white bread. Very boring. Yams, green veggies, colorful salad. Much more appealing.

Quirks?  I don’t thing I have any of those.  My husband does, though, and I’ve probably mentioned them before. One is his favorite snack of peanut butter on his (gluten-free) homemade bread, decorated with rows of raisins. The other is his habit of putting his food always on the side of his plate. For instance, a three-course meal of meat, veggies, potatoes—it makes sense to put each item on one side or the other.  But I serve a lot of one-pot meals, like stirfry or spaghetti.  Only one thing to put on the plate.  My serving goes right smack in the middle of my plate.  His goes off to one side, no matter what. I don’t know why. And I figure, hey, it’s his plate, right?  So I happily eat from the middle and he happily eats from the side.

Oh, I almost forgot. He also eats the WHOLE apple, including the core. Yup. Go figure.

And I just now realized I wrote on yesterday’s prompt. Oh well. Maybe I’ll catch up later today.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/mouths-wide-shut/

One thought on “Picky? Not Me!

  1. Pingback: 6 Simple Food Quirks in My Everyday Life | Ramisa the Authoress

Leave a Reply

