Sweet Sleep

Ready, Set, Done

Our free-write is back by popular demand: today, write about anything — but you must write for exactly ten minutes, no more, no less.

*******************

The uppermost thing on my mind this morning is sleep, and how I didn’t get much last night.

It was a trying day at work.  Sometimes the burdens people bring to my office just don’t seem to have any solutions.  I hate that.  I always want to be able to offer, at the very least, a different way for my clients to think about their problem(s) so that perhaps a different way of dealing with those problems can be found.

I dealt with a wide range of issues yesterday, ranging from rearing toddlers in a three-generation household to marital problems in the mid-40’s to end of life issues with a very sad older man who is alone, lonely, has Bipolar Disorder, and never learned to read.  Talk about diversity!

There was one person in particular who was just full of words.  They came pouring out like Niagara, with hardly a breath now and then to interrupt the flow. And she started off by telling me she already KNOWS everything I’ve offered her so far!  Oy.  What’s a therapist to do?

Anyway, when I got home, all I wanted to do was nothing.  So tired, couldn’t even think about food. I finally snacked on a handful of cashews and several olives.  Weird, right?   Watched a couple of mindless reruns of Bewitched and I Dream of Jeannie.  At least Dick VanDyke and Mary Tyler Moore made me laugh 🙂

Finally went to bed around 9, and as always, settled down to read myself to sleep.

I finished the book, which I’d been only about 1/4 of the way into when I went to bed last night. It’s a 350-pager. It was around 2:30 this morning when I finally switched off my light and got maybe four hours of very restless sleep–you know, the kind where you toss, turn, wake up to look at the clock.

Ugh. Ughughugh. My head is spinning this morning, and I have five more people to see today. To top things off, our weather went from glorious to down-pourious overnight, and it’s grey and gloomy out there.

I really don’t know how I’m going to navigate the day, but I will.  We always do, don’t we?  No matter what, no matter how miserable we feel, we get through the 24 hours in the same amount of time it would take if things were just tiptop. It’s just not as much fun.

Tonight, I’m going to borrow one of my husband’s klonopin tablets. Well, I won’t borrow it, because he won’t want it back after I’ve used it, will he!

Ten minutes, done!

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/ready-set-done-2/

5 thoughts on “Sweet Sleep

  1. I can so empathise with this. This was me on Tuesday night, which is probably why I slept like a log last night! I hope today brings you problems you feel you can solve and a full night of sleep. Also, I just realised I wasn’t following you! I have corrected this 😉

    Like

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Ready, Set, Done | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

Leave a Reply

