It’s Been Awhile since I Ranted!

I just can’t hold it in any more. temper_tantrum

Someone posted on Facebook the audio clip of a very smug woman who called in to accuse those of us who work for a living of doing so just so we could “preach” about how morally superior we are.  Not because we take pride in our work, or maybe actually enjoy working.  No, just so we could moralize about ourselves and compare ourselves favorably to people like her, a second-generation welfare recipient who makes no bones about bragging on her lifestyle, even going so far as to ask, “If someone offered you a million dollars, wouldn’t you take it?”

Here’s the clip.

There are so many things wrong here that it’s hard to know where to start.  I am simply flabbergasted that someone who rarely, if ever, considers actually earning her money is trying to take the moral high ground.  The only thing she says that bears some truth is that the government actually makes it really hard for you to go off welfare once you’re on it. Yes, that’s true.  The whole idea is to create a society that depends on Big Brother to hand you your daily crust of bread.

Don’t people like this woman ever think about what would happen if all the saps and suckers like me would just simply refuse to pay taxes?  See, she has chosen  to be on welfare for life; I, on the other hand, have no choice about paying the taxes necessary to keep her there.  If I refuse to pay, I’ll go to jail.  If she refuses to work, she’s rewarded with $1300 per month of freebies–including her Obamaphone.

I know, I know.  “But there are people who really NEED to be on welfare and to get the help they’re entitled to!  Think of the children!”  Yes, I know.  And I am thinking of the children, who are being taught that working is just silly because the gummint will give you everything.  Exactly my concern.

In Rome it was bread and circuses to keep the idle people occupied.

What is it here in America?

Well, that’s a topic for another rant, someday.

10 thoughts on “It’s Been Awhile since I Ranted!

  1. June

    And now I guess I’ll be morally superior – or a sap – whichever way you want to look at it – or even better, a responsible member of society, and go.to.work!

  2. So funny. It reminds me of my high school drama teacher that told the class how some don’t like rich snobs, but he said he hated the snobbery of the poor. Explaining he said it’s those that are down and out and still try to put down others as “too good” or “uppity.” I got his point but until then, never saw it that way until he pointed it out.

  3. I agree with you on this. I believe this woman has absolutely no good conscience at all. She has no consideration at all for those who work living payday to payday so taxes can be paid for her to live her lazy, selfish life. And she and her husband are teaching their children to do the same. They have more amenities than the average hardworking person has. The mindset of all these people is narcissistic. I wonder how happy she would really be if her goodies were taken away from her and she HAD to work. Oh well, sorry, I had to rant a little too I guess. But it is going according to what God’s Words says it will. “It’s all about me. Me, me, me.” Sigh…Please come quickly Lord Jesus! But until you do, please give us, your hard-working, faithful children perseverance and your glorious hope of that day.

  4. Right on, Linda. Ranting can be good, and in this case great, though I confess to not listening to the posted audio, probably because I’ve heard it all before too many times and don’t want to be provoked into a rant on that subject at this time but I’m so glad you did. Rant on. I think the freeing qualities of a good rant have been suppressed by the pc/rc police who consider ranting from the sidelines among the great unwashed as improper while those who are “qualified” actually rant for a living. Imagine if we all ranted when ranting was called for instead of doing the “Christian” thing and keeping quiet. Pretty sure that’s how the country got to this place. And I’m pretty sure I know who has been taking the fight out of God’s people… Thank goodness the Lord did not hold back when a good and proper rant came on.

Leave a Reply

