Queen or Princess?

Next in Line

A second #RoyalBaby will soon be joining the Windsors in England. Given the choice, would you rather be heir to the throne, or the (probably) off-the-hook sibling?

***************

I”d rather not have to be the queen.  I mean, I could if I had to, and I would accept the responsibility if that became necessary, but I wouldn’t look for it or try to make it happen. Even in a monarchy such as England maintains, where the monarch really isn’t in charge of much of anything, the exposure to public scrutiny and the constant hassle with the paparazzi would drive me nuts.  

No, thanks.  I’d rather be a princess, waiting for my Prince Charming to come along and whisk me off to Neverland on his gorgeous white horse, to live in a flower-covered, modernized castle with a full staff of servants.  I’d want a meaningful job to do, of course, in the midst of all that loveliness.  It wouldn’t have to be a career;  just work to do that has an impact on the people and makes life more worthwhile. Teaching?  Writing? Working with victims of domestic violence or some other traumatic experience?  I don’t know.  It’s nice to dream about having all the money in the world at my fingertips, though, to work effectively in one or more of those areas. 

I think a princess has more latitude to do as she likes than a queen does.  That’s the life for me 🙂

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/next-in-line/

Leave a Reply

