I Think!

Why, Thank You?

What’s the best (or rather, worst) backhanded compliment you’ve ever received? If you can’t think of any — when’s the last time someone paid you a compliment you didn’t actually deserve?

*********************

I’ve been told more than once, always by a man, that I “think like a man.” It is always said with warm approval and a huge attitude of shock on the part of the man.

I find this “compliment” highly questionable and rather offensive.  There are so many derivative statements that apply:

1. Women don’t think. They feel.

2.  It is better to think like a man.

3. It is surprising that any woman actually thinks, and that she thinks like a man is just shocking.

4. If women all thought as men do, the world would be a better place.

5.  All male thinking is better than all female thinking. 

I could go on, but that’s more than enough.  I would remind these benighted men that God created Eve because Adam needed a little help.

Apparently, thinking like a man wasn’t going to be the only possible acceptable option.

Come on, guys.  Take it in the lighthearted  spirit in which it’s written.

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/why-thank-you/

4 thoughts on “I Think!

  1. Very well put, Granonine. I hope you pass this wisdom down to all nine of your grandchildren! On the other hand, I have a male friend who takes it as a huge compliment when people tell him he thinks like a woman! Not that most men probably would, but a good many of them that we deign to keep around us do! (Okay fellas. I, too, am kidding. A bit.) My family was very good at saying what they really meant and then saying, “Just kidding.” I believe native Americans also used humor as a means of telling the truth. So, make of my comment about men what you will, but I’m not kidding when I say I enjoyed and agreed with your post! Judy

    Like

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Why, Thank You? | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

Leave a Reply

