Zing!

Discussion Enders

We’ve all had exchanges where we came up with the perfect reply — ten minutes too late. Write down one of those, but this time, make sure to sign off with your grand slam (unused) zinger.

Dear Daily Post,

If I can’t think of the perfect squelch when I need it, WHY do you think I can find one NOW?

Sincerely,

Granonine

Well, ok, let’s see if the not-so-alert brain can come up with something.  I had a truly awful night last night, started my morning way behind time.  Brain not quite functioning, so it’s no wonder I’m stuck here. I know, though, that especially in my work I’ve had times when I needed the perfect response and thought of one only after my client had left. That’s probably a good thing, since I’m supposed to be helping people and not sending them out of my office feeling like they’ve just been to the the principal in high school 🙂

 

Ah.  I remember once when I DID have the perfect squelch. I had a man who brought his poor wife to me so I could set her straight about who was the boss. I wrote about them here. I know this was supposed to be about a line you thought of too late, but I’m really glad this one came to me so quickly.  Here’s the last few lines of the post:

“That’s enough!  I’m leaving, and we won’t be back!  No woman is going to interfere in my marriage or make my wife think of disobeying me! My wife is perfectly happy as long as she’s obedient. You are a Jezebel!”

He dragged his wife up by her arm, pushed her in front of him, opened the door and shoved her through. He turned for a parting shot: “You must have married a weak, spineless man!”

You, Mr. B., are a weak and spineless man.  I married a godly man.”

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/discussion-enders/

Leave a Reply

