My Passion

Breaking the Ice

The internet has recently been swept up by the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge. Is there a cause — social, political, cultural, or other — you passionately believe in? Tell us how you got involved — or why you don’t get involved.

*******************

I don’t talk much about my faith here. I have another blog for that. My passion is my faith, combined with the work I do as a counselor in a Christian counseling office. It is a privately-owned office, so I am free to use my Bible in my work. The only restriction on that would be if a client prefers not to have God’s Word incorporated into the counseling.  Sometimes, people are unaware that our office is biblically-based. They have, of course, the right to ask not to have faith or spiritual matters involved in their counseling.

Usually, however, my clients welcome the use of biblical precepts and principles as we work together.  The most successful work happens when I am able to help a client learn to think biblically about his situation.  Let me give you just one example.

Many people come to me feeling terrible about themselves.  They feel they are not “good enough,”  or they have a load of guilt about things they have no power or authority to change.  Most of the time, these people have no idea what their worth is to God, and that is what we address.

One of the scriptural passages I use to help my clients think biblically is Colossians 1:16, especially the end of the verse, that tells us that God made us for Himself. He desired fellowship. He created us for His glory, and for His companionship. That’s an amazing concept.

Then we go to Ephesians 2:10, which tells us that we are His workmanship. The word workmanship is from the Greek poema,  which is obviously the root of our word poem.  So we are God’s poem, His literary masterpiece, His prized work of art. Poetry in motion, as an old pop song declared.

There are other verses I use, but to move to the most important biblical principle, we need to understand that our value and worth to God are inestimable. For this concept, I go to John 3:16, probably one of the best-known verses in the entire Bible. “For God SO loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life.”

God loved us so much that He allowed His perfect, sinless Son to become man, and to bear our sins on His own body, suffering in our place. The glory of that story is that Jesus rose from death so that we also might have eternal life in Him when we trust Him as Savior. It’s a wonderful story.

Jesus would not have died for something that was of no worth, no value, to God.

And that is my passion.  Helping people understand who they are in Christ Jesus is my passion.  It’s life-changing.

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/breaking-the-ice/

7 thoughts on “My Passion

    1. I do a thread on my Bible study blog called “Friday Counseling Issues” usually every week, if you’d like to take a look. And thanks for the encouragement. Wasn’t sure how this post would be received, but so far the response is very positive.

      Like

  1. Pingback: Food Forest, Beans and Other Garden Themes | Prairie Views

Leave a Reply

