Who’s Your BFF?

On Bees and Efs
Do you — or did you ever — have a Best Friend? Do you believe in the idea of one person whose friendship matters the most? Tell us a story about your BFF (or lack thereof).

This is a topic that always leaves me wondering if I’m weird. Okay, yes, I have a friend who is one of my heart friends (I like that expression a lot better than BFF!) and who I would consider a “best friend.” She gets me.  I get her.  We communicate without words. I always look forward to lunch with her. We can go several weeks without any contact, but we always pick up right where we left off. I treasure her friendship, and she knows it. 

We both have other friends that we love and treasure.  Some of them are mutual, some are not. We don’t live in each other’s hip pockets. For me, one of the best things about true friendship is a loose hold. We don’t live in each other’s heads.  We don’t question if each has been out with another friend.

That’s my point, I think. Through my life, until the last 20 years, I’ve moved around a lot. It’s not easy to maintain “heart friend” relationships with people you never see.  I’ve had many friends that were, I guess, my best friends at the time. Life moves on, however. Things change, people change, distance changes, interests and even beliefs change. 

On Facebook, I’ve had the pleasure of reconnecting with some old friends from high school, college, and even pre-high school. That’s wonderful.  I’m delighted to have them in my life again, people who knew me when I was still in some very formative years and wasn’t always sure who on earth I was or wanted to be; people who were patient with me then and who don’t hold it against me that some of my inner struggles spilled out onto them.

I’m rambling. Well, it’s MY blog 🙂

Best friends include my husband and my kids. My husband has put up with a lot, and loves me anyway. My kids have seen me at my worst-than-worst, and love me anyway. I love having adult children.  It’s a reward. And of course, adult children often produce life’s best reward, grandchildren.

Friends have spiced up my life with many different flavors.  I’m grateful.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/on-bees-and-efs/

Leave a Reply

