On Being Sixty-seven

From the Top
Today, write about any topic you feel like — but you must reuse your opening line (at least) two more times in the course of your post.

*********************

I don’t know how I’m supposed to feel.  People tell me I don’t LOOK 67.  I wonder what that means. People tell me I don’t ACT as if I’m that close to 70.  What do they think someone who is 67 should act like?  Is there a rule somewhere that I don’t know about?

I don’t know how I’m supposed to feel, being only one year younger than my mom was when my dad died. He had just turned 70.  He looked older, because he’d been sick for nearly 10 years. He had heart disease, and strokes, and he had been through some really scary surgeries. Of course, Mom aged a lot during all that. She worked so hard to cook  healthy food for him, most of which he didn’t really like but ate for her sake.  He was the center of her life for more than 50 years.

See where this kind of musing can take you?

I really don’t know how I’m supposed to feel.  I’ve been married for 45 years.  I have four adult children, and nine granchildren. Some of them are in their teens already!  I’ve had three careers:  Wife and mom, teacher, and counselor.  When I think back over the years, I realize how long I’ve lived and all that I’ve seen.  I was ten when the Russians put up Sputnik, the first space satellite.  It was a huge thing in 1957.  Seems like no big deal now.  What we didn’t have then?  Cell phones. Personal computers. McDonald’s. Drip coffee makers. Most of us didn’t have air conditioning. Most of us had only one car. Our rock and roll music was Pat Boone and Perry Como, and Flying Purple People Eater, Alley Oop, and Monster Mash. Elvis was pretty new, and actually pretty tame by today’s standards.  The Beatles hadn’t crossed the pond yet. The summer I was married, 1969, was the summer we first landed men on the moon.

I think I just feel grateful.  I’m in pretty good health, all things considered.  I have two artificial knees. That wouldn’t have been an option 50 years ago.  I have Type II diabetes, which I’m working very hard to get under control.  My blood pressure is a little high, also  working to get under control. Other than that, I’m good. My ticker is strong, my brain seems to be functioning well, and I have pretty good vision. Hearing is weaker than it used to be, but still not bad at all if only people wouldn’t MUMBLE 🙂

maxine hearing aids

I don’t know how I’m supposed to feel about the world I’ll leave my grandchildren.  I fear for the kind of trouble they’re facing if our government continues in its present direction. Less liberty, more control; less freedom, less value placed on human life; more stifling of truth, more revisionist history, more hatred toward Christianity.

I know one thing for sure:  I wouldn’t go back and be young again.  I love where my life is now, and I’m looking forward to heaven more with each passing year.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/from-the-top/

Leave a Reply

