Define ” Work”

 

Work? Optional!

If money were out of the equation, would you still work? If yes, why, and how much? If not, what would you do with your free time?

********************************

If you had asked me this question at two or three different stages of my life, you would have received different answers.  Now, I’m 67.  I’m still working three days each week, with a lovely four-day weekend. I see between 15-20 clients, usually, and that’s enough.  Sometimes, it’s more than enough. So if money were out of the equation, I probably would opt not to work now.

Big  however coming up.  I think we need to consider what work really is, because it’s different things for different people.  My husband, for instance, works all day every day on projects he didn’t have time for before he retired.  He does not consider it working, because there’s no paycheck at the other end. He enjoys himself, but then he loved his official job, too.  He likes to work, always has. It’s his fun.

My job is more than just “work” for me.  I consider it a calling.  It was a deliberate choice I made, at age 50, to go back to school and get a master’s degree so I could do this work. I understood that there would be a pretty steep student loan to pay, and that I would be working into my seventies. I accepted that and still would make the same choice again.

If I were relieved of the obligation to repay the loan, I’d probably retire.  I would, however, still work.  I don’t mean housework.  If money were no object, I would happily pay to have my cleaning, laundry, shopping and cooking done for me.  I know, however, that I would not be happy for very long to just fritter my days away with no real purpose, which is where work comes in.

I would write.  I would clear up some unfinished projects that sit in my sewing room.  I would spend more time with friends.  If Terry were willing, I’d move closer to my church so I could be more involved in ministry. I’d travel a little, especially to see grandkids.  I suspect my days would rapidly fill up with activities that would engage my interest and stretch my mind and heart, because I hate not having something to do.

I may not work for a paycheck any more, but I would work. I’m not sure life would be very satisfying, at the end of each day, if there were not something tangible that I have accomplished.  Work is necessary for the human heart and soul.

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/work-optional/

13 thoughts on “Define ” Work”

Leave a comment